Gloucester 02

I haven’t forgotten it. I have to say something here about one of the best months in my life, August 2002. On that month I went to England for a second time with an escolar grant and I passed four incredible weeks in a beatiful city in the center of England, Gloucester. The first time was very good, in another small city, Derby, but the second one was special.

I arrived late in Barajas, the airport, maybe the last, but I had time waiting the plane for knowing good friends before the flight. During the month we did a lot of activities as sports, journeys to London, Stratford or Oxford, bowling, barbacues… but the best was the free time we spent all together, specially at night. Coming back at eleven o’clock was a little bit strange for us because here at that hour we are already at home and we use to go out much later but is a different culture, not better, not worse, different. Here we have dinner at ten o’clock, in England at six, but no problem, you have to be involved in their culture and enjoy.


My family was very nice. Two children, a boy and a girl, and the parents. They earned a few money for my stay but they did it because they wanted to have a good time with me, and I realized that because I was one more in the family. The only bad thing was I didn’t learn a lot of english. But I was there for having a good time. For study we have the whole school year 😉

Three years later I remember some moments as if it was yesterday. For example, the day of the barbacue, the nights in the Therapy… Lioba said me that now is closed. With us they did the august! Every day we filled the pub and they even invited us some days.But the best in this month was the incredible people I met there: Palentino, Alex, Lioba, Marife, Gema, Fati, Chemi, Ari, Gonzalo, Mari, Paloma, Sandra, Olga, Eli… I can’t mention all. But I don’t forget you. If you read this, please, write something and you can add photos if you want. Thanks!

P.D. Un saludo a todos y haber si esa kedada q siempre se dice y nunca se hace la llevamos a cabo, aq algunos tengamos q meternos la pechá de kms pa bajar al sur merecera la pena!

Aclaraciones: Useful inventions ( by xolomo) – “they did the august” (hicieron el agosto)
– “as if it was yesterday” ( como si fuese ayer)

4 Comments

  1. Bueno Ion, por fin escribo algunas lineas en esto de tu “blogger”… y comienzo en este artículo sobre Gloucester ’02, comentando en espa?ol, aunque venga de una futura Filóloga Inglesa y quede un poco chocante jajajajajaja….
    En primer lugar, agradecerte que hayas incluido mi nombre en esas líneas donde mencionas a increibles personas. La verdad es que si que conocimos a mucha gente que mereció y merece la pena (entre ellas te incluyo y no es un cumplido), tal vez algunos piensen que otras no merecieron la pena, pero yo creo que al igual que todo en la vida sucede por algún motivo, el conocer a gente también. Para mi fue una inolvidable experiencia
    Al igual que tú, Ion, hablas de “your English family” (hombre algún conceptillo en inglés … jajajajaja), yo tengo que decir que la mía esta compuesta por dos personitas encantadoras e importantes “Peter & Jane”, y digo está porque siempre los recuerdo y los recordaré para mi son mis “abuelitos”, les tomé un cari?o impresionante e impensable… Y aunque suene cursi, los llevo en un trozito de mi corazón… Aquí es cuando tengo que decir una cosa a esos que dicen “que los ingleses son personas muy despegadas… y frias”. Están totalmente equivocados y como se suele decir para muestra un botón… Peter y Jane, para mi son el mejor ejemplo. Nunca los olvidaré, al igual que tampoco olvidaré a ninguno de ustedes, cada uno en su justa medida, para qué enga?arnos…

    PD: Sólo me queda deciros que en Sevilla seguís teniendo una amiga para cuando necesiteís. Aunque sea una postdata escueta, va con toda mi sinceridad (calidad antes que cantidad). Besos, Gema

  2. Gracias por escribir, no esperaba menos 😉 Ha sido un detalle que escribieses en castellano para no dejar mi ingles a la altura del betún, jejeje. Ya ire puliendo esos “conceptillos”, espero q con tu ayuda. A ver si se anima algun@ más a poner algo. Besos

Responder

